Youth for Troops Founding Youth Board

Youth for Troops Founding Youth Board and Advisers, from left, Geoffrey Hoffa, Taylor Piatt, Walter Hoffa, Renee Hoffa, Leo Hoffa, Heather Piatt, Hannah Piatt and Tonya Piatt. Not pictured are Sophie Hoffa, Tamara Foster and David Piatt.

The Anthem Community Council tapped Youth for Troops for the 2020 Anthem Veterans Service Award during a virtual Veterans Day ceremony held November 11. 

Created by the ACC in 2013 and presented annually, the award recognizes an individual or group demonstrating “extraordinary service and selfless dedication in support of our nation’s veterans.”

Since 2017, Youth for Troops has been preparing care packages for deployed service members, making plastic mats for homeless veterans, serving as flag bearers for Honor Flight homecomings, helping to conduct the VFW Buddy Poppy Drive and assisting with ceremonies and paver installations at the Anthem Veterans Memorial, participating in the annual Daisy Mountain Veterans Parade, among other things. 

Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, Youth for Troops volunteer members continued to make plastic mats and care packages, following guidelines but steadfast in their mission to help veterans and active-duty service members. A quote from one nomination reads, “If there is any event supporting veterans, Youth for Troops will always be there.”

“Thank you so much to the Anthem Community Council for this recognition,” said Hannah Piatt, Youth for Troops founding youth board member.

“We are humbled and honored to be placed on this plaque among outstanding veterans, many of whom we are proud to call friends. Thank you to this patriotic community that supports our heroes and to all the volunteers and supporters that make our mission a success; we can’t serve our heroes without each of you. This recognition belongs to volunteers of all ages who have honored our heroes through their community service. We love this community and the beautiful Anthem Veterans Memorial.”

A plaque with the names of all recipients is on display at the Anthem Civic Building. Past winners, selected annually by the ACC Board of Directors based on nominations submitted from the community, include: Daisy Mountain Veterans (2013); Ray Norris (2014); Mary Ann Derryberry (2015); Liz Turner (2016); Bob Hackett (2017) and John Simmons (2017); Tom Kirk (2018) and Ron Tucker (2019). 

Visit to learn more about the Anthem Veterans Memorial. Following recommended safety guidelines, volunteers can assist Youth for Troops at monthly events by registering with